8 Maguindanao officials connected to drugs surrender to PNP chief

COTABATO CITY, Philippines — Eight Maguindanao local officials have promptly complied with a presidential ultimatum for them and other officials to surrender within 24 hours to Philippine National Police Director General Ronald dela Rosa. Police sources said seven officials flew this morning to Manila along with police officers directed to escort them to surrender to De la Rosa in Camp Crame.

Mayor Rasol Sangki of Ampatuan town, the eighth Maguindanao local official named by President Rodrigo Duterte as allegedly involved in illegal drugs trade, was spotted by TV camera in Dela Rosa’s office as he presented local officials who surrendered the night before the Chief Executive’s expose.

Duterte early Sunday named dozens of government officials, including mayors, judges, policemen, soldiers and a few ranking military officials, as allegedly involved in illegal drugs trading. Some of the officials the President named in Davao City were local politicians familiar to Maguindanao residents, including Sangki. The others were: Montasir Sabal of Talitay; Mayor Vikman Montawal of Datu Montawal; Mayor Samsudin Dimaukom of Datu Saudi Ampatuan; Mayor Norodin Salasal of Datu Salibo; Vice-Mayor Abdulwahid Sabal of Talitay; Vice Mayor Oto Montawal-Datu Montawal; vice mayor Nida Dimaukom of Datu Saudi Ampatuan — all in Maguindanao.

H/T: inquirer

No comments

Powered by Blogger.